

Wednesday, April 9th, 2014 4:30 – 6:30 pm Cedar Creek Room, Vermont State House Montpelier, Vermont

Remarks by:

VCW Commissioner Marion Milne
VCW Chair Marcia Merrill
Representatives from Our Congressional Delegation
Governor Madeleine Kunin
Governor Peter Shumlin
VCW Executive Director Cary Brown

"Men of Vermont, beware.

The gals are getting organized to get a fair shake at home, on the job, in the courts and in the schools," wrote Burlington Free Press legislative beat reporter Vic Maerki back in December of 1964 about the first

meeting of our Commission.

Discusses

Enormous gains for women and girls have been made since then, in all areas: economic equity and security, leadership and public life, health and safety, civil and legal rights, and education and human development.

Vermont has often led the way in the advancement of progress for women and girls, progress which would not have occurred had it not been for people working together, figuring out what needed to be done, how best to do it and then making it happen.

The Vermont Commission on Women (VCW) has served as the focal point for those gatherings for 50 years now. Thank you for joining us to celebrate our history, to appreciate those who have contributed to it, and to continue our work together.

Marcia Merrill, VCW Chair

Original Commissioners

Evelyn Bates
Helen Beckerhoff
Matthew Burke
Col. W. J. Burke
Ruth Colombo
James Dempsey
Mary Flory
Julia Garfield
Stella Hackel

Joan Harding
Bette Horton
Betty-Ann Kelley
Elizabeth Kelley
Mrs. Kirtland Keve
Dean Thomas King
Madeleine Kunin
Mrs. Stanley McKenney
Maureen McNamara

Mrs. Clement Moyse
Mrs. Don Munger
Evelyn Patnod
Sister Rose Rowan
Rev. Wallace Short
Rosemary Stark
Mrs. Wallace Turner
Blair Williams
Mrs. Alfred Zeller

COMMISSIONERS 1964 - 2014

Evelyn Bates
Helen Beckerhoff*
Matthew Burke
Col. W. J. Burke*
John Carl
John Carnahan
Beverly Cassara (Chair)
Patricia Chase

Ruth Colombo (Chair)

James Dempsey
Sister Mary Edmund
Mary Flory*
Julia Garfield
Stella Hackel*

Joan Harding
Bette Horton

Betty-Ann Kelley

Alice Adams
Patricia Allen

Clifford Austin Robert Babcock, Jr.

Bennet (Miriam) Bell

Roxy Bolton Ruth Brooks

Charles Buckman, Jr.

Judge Alan Cheever* Robert Clark

Virginia Cowles Shirley Crockett Ann Cummings

Mrs. Dean C. Davis

Elizabeth Kelley*
Mrs. Kirtland Keve*

Dean Thomas King

Gov. Madeleine Kunin*

Jean McKenney*

Mrs. Clement Moyse

Mrs. Don Munger Jean McKenney

Maureen McNamara*

Alden Norton, Jr

Evelyn Patnod (Chair)*

Sister Rose Rowan

Rev. Wallace Short*

Rosemary Stark (Chair) Mrs. Wallace Turner

Blair Williams*

Mrs. Alfred Zeller*

Elizabeth Downer

Sandra Dragon

Claire Duke

Marion English

Martha Forsythe

Geraldine Garatoni

Grace Gibby

Gloria Gil (Chair)*

Gloria Graham

Sen. Margaret Hammond

Emma Harwood*

Theodore Herbert

Fay-Bond Hinrichs

Daniel Holland

^{*} reappointed to serve multiple terms

Carole Howe
Kathleen Hoyt
Arthur Hughes
Martha Ide
Thomas James

Betty Jones (Chair)*

Diane Kessler Rebecca Lambert

Iris Lash

Carol Matthews Dorothy Maurice Judy McEntyre (Chair)

Lenore McNeer (Chair)
Carolyn Miller*

Georgiana Miranda, Esq.

Mrs. Berl Morrill Gretchen Morse Phoebe Morse, Esq.

Jane Noury

Mrs. Frances Patry Dorothy Purinton Dorothy Quadland Pamela Rampone Shirley Rivard

Karen Kent Robinson (Chair)

Jeanne Sherman Millie Small Priscilla Smith

Lt. Gov. Barbara Snelling

Richard Snelling Dolores Stocker Sylvia Stock Mayer Louise Swainbank

Helena Ure

Jeanne Van Vlandren*

Aline Ward Edward Willard Mary Winslow

19805 Claire Anderson

Wanda Baril Jennifer Barker Anne Batten Parker Brown Sen. Mary Ann Carlson

Rhoda Carroll Joanne Crisman Judge Amy Davenport

Judge Amy Daven
Pat Davis
Sandy Dooley*
Claire Fern
Ann Fielder*
Robin Finnegan
Jean Flack

Dolly Fleming
Mary Fletcher
Jackie Folsom*
Billi Gosh(Chair)*
Edwin Grant
Linda Gray*
Marion Gray
Barbara Hammond

Anne Harroun Joanne Hayes Pat Heffernan* Eunice Kinsey* Arthur Kunin Cynthia Laware Allan Mackey* Ellen Maloney
Diana Matthews
Donna Merrill
Wendy Morgan
Noreen O'Connor*
Dorothy Plue
Rep. Ann Pugh*
Anita Seymore
Evelyn Smith

David Wagner Stephen Walke Rev. Jane Wilson Heather Wishik Joann Wobby Jennifer Woolger Toby Young William Young

1990s' Kate Baldwin

Tom Belville
Gary Boutin
Kimberly Brittenham
carolyn Brown, MD
Carol Buchdahl*
Becky Jo Cook
Cheryl Dick
Lorna Edmundson
Tammy Fletcher
Kelley Beckwith Gilmour
Rep. Maxine Jo Grad (Chair)*
Timothy Hayward
Gary Hazard
Wanda Hines

Sharetha Marsicovetere*
Jennifer Matthews
Steve Mojica
Barbara Morrow*
Nancy Nystul
Rep. Lisa O'Neil
Elisabeth Robert
Marilyn Russell
Phyllis Soule
Joan Lawrence-Studebaker*
Janaki Natarjan Tschannerl
Margaret Tillile
Holly Willson

Victoria Young (Chair)*

2000s

Sharon Baade Gretchen Bailey* Joyce Barbieri Eileen Boland* Cary Brown* Ann Hagman Cardinal Mary Claire Carroll* Elayne Clift
Sen. Ann Cummings*
Laine Dunham*
Retta Dunlap
Marie Duquette
Ruth Finn*
Linda Fogg

Andrea Zentz

Cathy Frey*
Anne Ginevan
Bea Grause
Karen Henry*
Carin Hoffman
Marcia Merrill (Chair)*

Marion Milne*
Anne McClaughry*
Mary Barrosse-Schwartz*
Elizabeth Sternberg*
Maureen Trudeau*

20105

Charlotte Dennett Jennie Gartner* Susie Hudson Dr. Felicia Kornbluh* Nancy E. LaVarnway Danielle Martel Peg Martin Shambulia Gadsden Sams Ariel Wengroff

Current Commissioners

Gretchen Bailey
Eileen Boland
Carol Buchdahl
Charlotte Dennett
Laine Dunham
Ruth Finn
Cathy Frey
Jennie Gartner

Susie Hudson
Dr. Felicia Kornbluh
Nancy E. LaVarnway
Danielle Martel
Marcia Merrill
Marion Milne
Shambulia Gadsden Sams
Ariel Wengroff

Current Staff

Cary Brown
Lilly Talbert
Claire Greene

^{*} reappointed to serve multiple terms

ADVISORY ORGANIZATIONS

Current

American Association of University Women

Building Bright Futures

Castleton State College's Women's and Gender Studies Program

Central Vermont Women's International League for Peace and Freedom

Division of Maternal and Child Health, Vermont Department of Health

Girl Scouts of the Green and White Mountains League of Women Voters of Vermont

University of Vermont President's Commission on the Status of Women

Vermont Federation of Business and Professional Women

Vermont Low Income Advocacy Council

Vermont Network Against Domestic and Sexual Violence

Vermont State Nurses Association

Vermont Women's Business Center

Vermont Works for Women

Voices for Vermont's Children

Women's Agricultural Network (WAgN)

EXECUTIVE DIRECTORS

Karen Kent Robinson | 1973-1974 Constance Kite | 1975-1978 Anne Sarcka | 1978-1984 Lynn Heglund | 1984-1989 Sara Lee | 1990-1997 Judith Sutphen | 1997-2003 Wendy Love | 2003-2012 Cary Brown | 2012 to present

With heartfelt gratitude

To all who have contributed their

Time
Passion
Intelligence
Humor
Money
Talents
Direction
Support
Connections
Skills
Vision
Expertise
Guidance
Energy

The Vermont Commission on Women (VCW) is a non-partisan state agency working to advance rights and opportunities for women and girls. Sixteen volunteer commissioners, along with representatives from organizations concerned with women's issues, guide the VCW's public education, coalition building, and advocacy efforts. VCW offers many services to the public, including a toll-free information and referral service at 800-881-1561 and many publications, including The Legal Rights of Women in Vermont handbook.

Vermont Commission on Women (VCW)
126 State Street, Montpelier, Vermont 05633-6801
802-828-2851 | 800-881-1561
women.vermont.gov
Find us on Facebook | Follow us on Twitter

Celebrating 50 Years of Progress | 1964 – 2014